For the Wynn

This is a place where I blog about interesting things that I have come across in my study of Anglo-Saxon literature. The title comes from the name of the Anglo-Saxon runic letter wynn, which represents the w sound:

Wynn Har585.30v
London, British Library Harley MS 585, fol. 30v

I’d love to claim credit for the pun, but unfortunately a friend of mine, who is much better at coming up with puns than I am, has that particular honour.

By a happy coincidence, the word wynn (each of the letters in the Anglo-Saxon runic alphabet is named after a word beginning with that sound) is an Old English word for joy, and that’s what this blog is about: little things that I enjoy about Anglo-Saxon manuscripts.

One thought on “For the Wynn

Leave a Reply

